Quarterfinalists Emerge At 2nd Chief Adetunji Jibowu H/ball Competition For Secondary Schools


Quarterfinalists have emerged at the ongoing 2nd Chief Adetunji Jibowu Handball Competition For Secondary Schools in Ogun State.

Preliminaries of the handball competition were held across five centres for secondary schools between November 15th and 16th at various centres simultaneously.

Two teams comprising of boys and girls category from each division are to advance to the quarterfinals in which they will be divided into two groups while top two teams will eventually moved to the semifinals stage, and then to the final stage.

With this development, the quarterfinal matches will commence at Alake Sports Centre, Ijeja, Abeokuta on Thursday, November 18th just as the finals is slated for following day.

However, from Abeokuta division, Ijemo Titun High School, Ibara defeated African Church Grammar School 8/4 in the boys final while Macjob Grammar School, Onikolobo beat African Church Grammar School girls by 2/1 on penalty after playing 1/1 at the regulation time.

Meanwhile, all the four finalists have qualified for the quarterfinals since Abeokuta divisions will feature two teams in each category for the event while other divisions are to present one team in each category.

Similarly, Remo division will feature only Remo Secondary School, Sagamu in the girls category. Yewa College picked both boys and girls tickets from Yewa division.

Moreover, today has been set aside as resting and arrival day for other teams coming from outside Abeokuta while actions will resume on Thursday for quarterfinal matches.

Newsnigeriaonline.com.ng recalls that the handball competition being organised by Ogun State Handball Veterans under the leadership of Adeyemi George, aka Osawe is in collaboration with the Ogun State Handball Association and it will hold from November 15th – 19th, 2021.

Also, teams from Yewa division, Itolowo Community High School won the boys category while Yewa College, Ilaro won the girls category of the maiden edition of the competition held in 2019.