Nwachukwu Emerges BCGS Monthly Mug Overall Winner


Julius Nwachukwu demonstrated his consistency to emerge overall winner of the July edition of Benin Club Golf Section (BCGS) Monthly Mug held over the weekend in Benin City, Edo State.

Nwachukwu, former Amadioha was in steady form as he played 44 stableford to beat other golfers to the award thus added to his trophies shelve exactly a week ago that he won the men’s category at Hon. Osazuwa Ehiorobo @ 50 Birthday Golf Tournament held at the club.

With this victory, Nwachukwu, now known as ‘Steady’ has hitherto won the winner’s special parking lot until another winner emerged in August.

However, Osazee Iyare with 37 stableford won the men’s event while immediate past president, Benin Club, Dr Oriakhi with 34 stableford placed second ahead of Ikhide with 34 stableford while former Captain, Mayer Ologbosere settled for fourth sport with 33 stableford

Also, Dr. Caroline Bakare recorded 36 stableford to lift the ladies category ahead of former Lady Captain, Suwadetu Mahmud who played 33 stableford just as LGAN National Vice President, South South Zone, Sandra Emina with 30 stableford placed third.

Similarly, the battle for veteran men’s category was finally won by Chief Macaulay Azugbene with 36 stableford, thus beat Sylvester Akhigbe with 34 stableford to second spot while Monday Ikhureigbe placed third with 31 stableford.

Dr John Ogbeide prevailed in the super veteran men’s category with amazing 30 stableford.