How Ndarake Won At 2nd Aba Ladies Open Golf Championship


The 2nd Aba Ladies Open Golf Championship held at Aba Sports Club Golf Section, Abia State ended in grand style as Love Ndarake prevailed at the event.

The three days championship organized by ladies division of the golf section under the Lady Captain, Oluchi Oguejiofor feature large turnout of golfers across the country.

At the end of the keenly contested golf event, Ndarake played a gross score of 182 over two days to win the ladies hcp 0 – 18 category category.

Ndarake on the first day of the ladies hcp 0 – 18 category game played 91 gross while she repeated same feat due to her consistency on the second day game, hitherto beat all other contestants to the trophy.

Closely followed was Blessing Obaje who picked the first runner-up with 184 gross having played 89 and 95 gross respectively. Rita Izoje who recorded 185 gross placed second runner-up while Osinachi E. could only settled for third runner-up with 188 gross.

In the ladies hcp 19 – 28 category played over two days as well, Ify Onwuchekwa played 208 gross to win the cadre. Placing first runner-up was Juliet Friday with 213 gross while Joyce Nule with 216 gross and Nkoyo Igunbor with 231 gross placed second and third runner-up respectively.

Similarly, Nkechi Nwokolo won the ladies hcp 29 – 36 category with 117 gross. Josephine Ezenwa settled for first runner-up position for playing 118 gross just as Ijeoma Orjiako with 120 gross and Omeziri Ebere with 124 gross picked the second and third runner-up spot simultaneously.

Darlington Nwokolo played the best gross of 92 to lift the men’s category trophy. Collins Ekwueme placed first runner-up with 93 gross while Bill Amechi with 98 gross and Emman Anokute played 101 gross to settle for second and third runner-up spot.

In the same vein, Igho Ugegu won the day one gross with 117 while day two gross winner was Ruth Orioko with 109 gross. Yomi Obidigho won the most golf award with a gross score of 256. Also, Blessing Obaje won the day one nearest the pin just as the day two award went to Osinachi E.

The veteran categories were not left out of the presentation as Ify Udeagbala with 110 gross beat Comfort Jerry Kalu with 136 to win the category. Nick Mbanu emerged winner in men’s category with 90 gross. Uzo Nwakwo placed first runner-up with 98 gross while Ogechi Osuagwu picked the second runner-up award with 100 gross.

In a related development, the super veterans award went to Mike Okpala having played 53 gross on nine holes while Joseph Ogwu, 54 gross and Dan Nwakwo, 61 gross respectively placed first and second runner-up.

Meanwhile, the boy’s category award was won by Enyinnaya Emmanuel having recorded 78 gross, Michael Edeh 79 gross placed him as first runner-up after beaten Favour Peterside on count-back whilw Ajah S. placed third runner-up with 89 gross.

In her closing remarks, Lady Captain Oluchi Oguejiofor who was filled with joy appreciated all the participants who had traveled from far and near to grace the championship.

The highlight of the championship was presentation of trophies and other prizes to all golfers who distinguished themselves in the event.