Gov. AbdulRazaq Appoints Mogaji, Olarinoye As Chairman, DG Kwara Sports Commission


Mr. Bola Mogaji has been appointed as Chairman of the newly created Kwara State Sports Commission just as Dr. Olarinoye Steve Abiodun was appointed as the Director General of the Commission.

Kwara State Governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq noted that those appointees with others would help to drive growth and innovation in the subsector.

In a statement made available to sports writers in Ilorin, state capital by Rafiu Ajakaye, Chief Press Secretary to the Governor on Monday, August 3rd, 2021 confirmed the appointment.

Mogaji, whi hails from Ilorin West has decades of cognate experience as a professional athlete and stakeholder, is a household name in the country’s sports industry.

He was educated at the University of Ibadan, and has served in different capacities as a sports administrator at different levels.

He was Chief Coach between 1977 and 1995 at the Kwara State Sports Council, national champion (squash) between 1988 and 1989; National Coach, squash between 1995 and 2014, also, technical chairman of Nigeria Squash Federation between 2000 and 2015.

Similarly, he was the Vice President Nigeria Squash Federation between 2000 and 2004; Players’ Representative on National Board between 2000 and 2015, member of the Main Organising Committee of the National Sports Festival Eko 2012; member MOC Kwara Sports Festival 2020; and President of the Nigerian Squash Referee Association from 2012 to date.

In the same vein, Dr. Olarinoye Steve Abiodun, another renowned sports administrator hails from Ifelodun Local Government is a graduate of the Ahmadu Bello University and an alumnus of the International Sports Academy Germany, Abiodun has decades of cognate experience as an A-list sports administrator and athlete.

These include his positions as Executive Secretary of the Professional League, Nigeria Football Association (1993-1995); Head, International Competition Department (NFA) (1995-1996); Secretary General, Nigeria Weightlifting Federation between 2005 and 2009.

Also, Chairman, Kwara State Weightlifting Association from 2018 to date; Administrative Secretary to the gold-winning Nigeria Olympic Football Team Atlanta (1996).

Other members of the commission are sports authorities and enthusiasts like Dele Abubakar; Abdullahi Lade; Lanre Elijah; Makanjuola Monisola Yemisi; Roseline Raphael; Balikis Abolore Abdulkadir; Bakare Salmon Adebayo; and Ojukaiye Adedoyin Omolade, a senior civil servant, who is the secretary of the commission.