Eboh, Utaji Reign At BCGS Lady Captain’s Day Tourney


Dr. Mrs. Maryscholar Eboh declaration as winner of the ladies category at Benin Club Golf Section (BCGS) Lady Captain’s Day Tournament on Saturday night received a standing ovation from members and guests.

Eboh (hcp 34) beat them all with a net score of 58 to cart home the star prize and trophy. Placing second was immediate past LGAN South-South Zonal Vice-President, Sandra Emina (hcp 13) with amazing 71 net while fmr. Lady Captain, Nora Ucheagwu (hcp 28) played 76 net to place third.

Current Lady Captain, Foluso Oboro (hcp 28) had to settle for fourth position with 76 net just as wife of Edo State Deputy Governor, Her Excellency, Maryann Shaibu (hcp 25) picked the fifth place prize for playing 79 net.

In another development, Friday Utaji (hcp 18) set an overwhelming record of 64 net to win the men’s category having stepped up his game from second place performance played two days earlier during the last Thursday BCGS kitty.

Darlington Ogie (hcp 19) played his season best of 67 net to pick the second spot while Jude Igbinadolor (hcp 13) with 71 net placed third.

Top handicap, Osazee Iyare played a gross of 76 to emerge best gross winner in the men’s cadre just as Ehis Igbinadolor won the ladies division with 81 gross as well as longest drive award in hole 10.

The veteran ladies award went to fmr. Lady Captain, Juliet Ugiagbe (hcp 30) having played 70 net thus beat Omosefe Osaghae (hcp 31) who recorded 76 net just as Prof A. O. Dawodu (hcp 27) went home with third place prize with her 79 net.

Similarly, fmr. Lady Captain, Prof Josephine Mokwunyei (hcp 29) dominance in the super veterans continued as she recorded a net score of 73 to win the category.

Chief Sylvester Akhigbe (hcp 19) determination to win the vet men’s category materialised as he finally ended the 18 holes with awesome 69 net. Engr Basil Idahosa (hcp 16) beat Elder Monday Ikhureigbe (hcp 15) on count-back as they recorded 71 net respectively.

Moreover, D. Okoh (hcp 28) put up an impressive 70 net display to win guests ladies ahead of J. Idode (hcp 28) who played 70 net to place second. The guests men event was won by R. Idehen (hcp 14) after beating A Aburime (hcp 19) on count-back as they ended with 75 net

Meanwhile, in other awards, LGAN South-South Zonal Vice-President, Princess Habiibah Oyeghe Oyarekhua and Engr Ralph Irorere won nearest the pin hole 14 in ladies and men’s category respectively.

Also, the longest drive hole 10 prize was taken home by Soji Adesokan as Ehis Igbinadolor picked the ladies category.