Deputy Governor, Wife, Others Win At BCGS Captain’s Inaugural Golf Tourney


Deputy Governor of Edo State, Comrade Philip Shaibu and his wife, Mrs Maryann Shaibu were at their best over the weekend as they emerged champions at the 2022 BCGS Captain’s Inaugural Golf Tournament held in Benin City.

Also, declared winners were the duo of Ehis Igbinadolor, Lady Captain, UBTH Golf Club in the handicap 0-28 ladies while top rated golfer, Osaze Iyare won the men’s hcp 0-18 category respectively.

The captain’s inaugural fully attended by golfers within and outside the country was to officially usher in the administration of the BCGS Captain, Edward Ikponmwosa Osayande and his executives to pilot the club affairs for a year.

The Shaibus, recently returned from foreign training tour won the special guest men’s and ladies trophies respectively, while Peter Omaruaye, Captain, Ogunnu Golf Resort, Warri played 86 net to place second behind the DG in the event.

On his part, Iyare (hcp 3) emerged overall winner with amazing 72 net, thus beat Engr Ralph Irorere (hcp 15) with 74 net to second spot just as Hon. Andy Momodu (hcp 17) settled for third spot with 76 net.

Similarly, Igbinadolor (hcp 11), continued her dominance in the ladies cadre with 73 net after beating Justice Phil Obanor on count-back, while former BCGS Lady Captain, Nkiruika Awiaka placed third with 75 net.

In the same vein, former President of Benin Club, Dr. Matthew Oriakhi, foreign training tour paid off as he emerged men’s best gross winner with 86. Sandra Emina, National Vice-President, South-South Zone LGAN claimed the ladies best gross trophy with 89.

Other winners included Mrs. Betty Oriakhi in the hcp 29-38 ladies category. Prof. O. Dawodu and Sir Tony Aghedo won the veteran ladies and men’s, while Dr. John Ogbeide won the super veteran men’s cadre. Sam Iredia with 70 net, and Joan Dode played 66 net to win the guest men and ladies.

Moreover, Dame Comfort Edeki and Igbinadolor won ladies longest drive award. Pharm. Enoma Eromosele and Osaze Iyare won the men’s longest drive category. Justice Obanor and E. Arubeyi won the ladies and men’s nearest the pin.

Golfers from Ibori Golf and Country Club (IGCC), Asaba; UBTH Golf Club, Benin; Ikoyi Golf Club; Ikeja Golf Club; Abeokuta Golf Club; IBB Golf and Country Club; Ogunnu Golf Resort, Warri; Port-Harcourt Golf Club; Arsenal Golf Club, Owerri and host of others featured in the event.

The highlight of the tournament was the presentation of various trophies to all the top best golfers as well as winners in the individual events.

In his speech, the club captain, Ikpomwonsa commended all the participants for the outcome of the event, adding that golfers adhered strictly to the etiquette of the game which was very paramount.

“I am happy that all golfers present were abreast of the rule of golf. I am phappy for all those who present to honour this inaugural. Let’s change the face of golf in Nigeria. I am grateful to all those who made the tournament a great success.

“I am seeking everyone support for the remaining part of the years as this exco aspires for great golfing activities. I use this medium to appreciate my wonderful exco. They are the best,” he concluded.