Delta Community Inaugurates A Five-Man Security Committee


A Five-Man Security Committee have been inaugurated by the President General, Oviri-Olomu Community, Chief John Ewenede in order to curb the menace of hoodlums and criminal elements that poses security challenges to the community.

Chief Ewenede, while inaugurating the committee recently at the community ancestral hall, told them that the committee was to synergize with the youth council to ensure that cultists and all criminal elements were flushed out of the community.

The president general recounted how his house was broken into and valuable property worth millions of naira were carted away by hoodlums, just as he assured the committee of the backings of the leadership of the community.

“Today‚Äôs ceremony is impromptu, but very important and the purpose is to inaugurate the security committee as provided by the 1998 Constitution of Oviri-Olomu Community.

“Security is very key to the development of every society, including our community. You should therefore be diligent in carrying out your duties and ensure that you flush out all criminal elements from the community.

“There have been many cases of breaking and entry, rapes, stealing and others. You have the backing and support of my executive to deal with any one with questionable character, and where necessary, we shall involve the police,” he stressed.

Chief Ewenede said that the security committee was to serve as a reinforcement to the youth council, and charged them to synergize with the youth council at all times.

He said that the security committee, headed by David Akpe, had the power, in collaboration with the youth chairman, to mobilize every youth in the community for security job, stressing that there would be day and night policing in the community.

Ewenede commended the youth council, most especially the chairman, Comrade Urhobojevwe Ebrobota, for the sanitation activities carried out recently in the community and charged them to keep it up.

Members of the security committee included, David Akpe, Chairman; and Daniel Okoro, Secretary. Others are Edward Michael, Austin Ukren and Ofogba Ogheneganren.